Ode to 9/11/2001

10 years ago, I was driving in the the Driver’s Ed Focus practicing my parallel parking. When we came back to the school, no one knew what to think or how to react, much less what had actually happened or who caused it. I don’t have many other memories from that day except watching the footage over and over in every class and that the whispers in the halls was deafening. Looking back on it now, I feel like a ghost, experiencing half a life that may or may not be real. There were classmates crying, shaking, going home early, and I remember feeling empty.

What does this mean to me? That day started in me a self reflection process that I will never fully shake. A deeper appreciation for the country in which I live, it’s resilient population and it’s dedicated men and women of the Armed Forces to whom I owe so very much. I/we may not agree that we continued this war for the right reasons, but I have confidence in the people who risk their lives every day to keep those of us here at home safe.

As I sit here writing, I thank my God for giving me all the opportunities that American children seer offered, namely, the opportunity for higher education. Without the sacrifices or our forefathers and foremothers, I would not be here, studying something about which I am so passionate. Would it be a less fulfilling life? No, just different.

To my husband, my father, friends and family: thank you for all that you do and continue to do! Remember…And together we will never forget.

Editors Note: I couldn’t put a picture in today because they were either too saccharinely sweet and overtly optimistic, or gut-wrenchingly horrifying.

Leave a Reply

